Why become a member? ×

Aguilar Tonehammer 500 vs Little Mark iii (or any other suggestions?)

knoxy26

[quote name='knoxy26' timestamp='1401359903' post='2462760']
Im going to be running the Amp through a Barefaced Big Baby II.
Its that feeling that your always going to be missing out not matter what you get.... :huh: .
[/quote]

I've been doing the tone-quest for about 40 years and am currently using a Fusion and Barefaced Big One. Alex of Barefaced recommends GK amps (among others) for use with BF cabs and I can tell you from experience that the Fusion works really well with a BF cab... IMO and YMMV of course - but there will always be that feeling that the grass is always greener, hence the fact that most members have more than one rig... hope this helps. :)

Edited by discreet

[quote name='mirszmarsz' timestamp='1401387704' post='2463173']
We did compare TH500 with GK 500 MB fusion ... and my inpression was GK, GK, GK!
[/quote]

Quite so, but if you compare them visually the TH looks like a fifties retro space-ship console...
and the GK looks like a car radio.

But that's irrelevant, isn't it? No-one on this forum listens with their eyes, do they??!! Oh, no. :D

• 6 months later...

[quote name='discreet' timestamp='1401389889' post='2463216']

Quite so, but if you compare them visually the TH looks like a fifties retro space-ship console...
and the GK looks like a car radio.

But that's irrelevant, isn't it? No-one on this forum listens with their eyes, do they??!! Oh, no. :D
[/quote]

If it was we would all be binning our mark bass amps

Well now having had both, I`d go for Markbass if wanting a clean but warm/fat presence in the mix, but Aguilar if needing some drive - which is in fact what I have done. The TH500 does what I was doing with my Little Mark 3 and VT DI pedal. It also has different frequncy areas on mids and highs which work better for me on what I`m currently doing.