Why become a member? ×

Modifying A Stingray!

NJE

Hi there total newbie here just asking for a little advice on a few mods Im thinking about doing on my stingray.

1. I need to replace the nut on my stingray as its down to the fetboard and was wondering which material to get. Im thinking graphite or brass, but was wondering if anyone out there has either of these on their basses, and how they find them and how they affect the sound. Any other material suggestions would be gratefully recieved.

2. Im thinking about changing the pickup as the pole pieces have rusted and i find them a bit pointy and sharp. i like the idea of a smooth cover (bartolini style). Just wondering if anyone has replaced their stingray pickup and which ones people generally recomend. I have heard Barts are a bit gutless, but interested to hear views on basslines, nordstrands, emg etc.

Thanks very much.

Nath

How old is your Stingray?

Most people like the sound of a brass nut but if I was you, I'd be considering the Warwick adjust-a-nut if it matched the width of your existing nut. You can get them through the bass centre.

As for pickups, there's nothing inherently wrong with the stock pickup. Why do you find the pole pieces sharp? They didn't leave the factory that way.

In my experience:
Bartolini - warm sounding, but woolly. Best suited for warm sounding basses.
Seymore Duncan - lacking in warmth a little. Good for a modern tone.
Nordstrand - probably the best balanced out of the three but the preEB pickup is still warmer.
Delano - I've not tried one in a stingray yet but in Sandberg basses, they're warm and clear.

Cheers for the info.