Why become a member? ×

1977/78 fender precision bass.

waz23

Hi. Newbie here so please be gentle!!.
I am hoping that a kind person on this site can give me some pointers on the value of my late fathers 1977/78 natural/honey fender p.bass. In original order he only stopped playing this 2 years before he passed away,having owned it since 1981. 1 or 2 little scuffs in in great order.

Help please.

[quote name='waz23' timestamp='1401571447' post='2464946']
Hi. Thanks for you response. I will take some tomorrow(Its at my mothers at the mo) and post them then.
[/quote]

Very good. If you have any problems posting them just drop me a PM.

Hi Waz and welcome to the forum :)

Late 70's P basses tend to show up in the BassChat marketplace forum priced circa £1000 - £1500. Immaculate, mint condition Precisions in rare or desirable colours and with the original hardcase are sometimes priced higher.

What they eventually sell for is another matter ;)

Edited by skankdelvar

Gents. Just found these on my old phone. They`ll do as a taster. Do better ones tomorrow.

[url="about:blank"]DSC_0387.jpg[/url][url="about:blank"]DSC_0388.jpg[/url][url="about:blank"]DSC_0389 (1).jpg[/url]

yes, indeed, post some pics Waz. Always nice to see a 70's natural here. Brought up on them, I was. :)

Thing is, the BC market's a bit weird at the moment. Lots of 70's stuff around at very good prices. As for dealers, well, Andy Baxter's got a fair number of late '70's P's going between £1600 - £1900. If one assumes that a dealer will buy at 50-ish% of what he sells, that's £800-£1000 in the mitt [i]if[/i] he'd take it.

Best bet might be to stick it up for sale here on BassChat (paying the tiny £7.00 fee, of course) and see if anyone bites. We can talk you through the process, if needs be. :)

Edited by skankdelvar

[quote name='waz23' timestamp='1401572226' post='2464952']
Gents. Just found these on my old phone. They`ll do as a taster. Do better ones tomorrow.