Why become a member? ×

Upright Bass UK Retail Prices

Hello All, long time lurker, first time poster here!

I have done quite a bit or searching around the forum and on Google to no avail, perhaps you kind fellows can fill me in! I am about to take up upright bass after about 8 years on electric, my knowledge and experience of upright gear is near-zero... it's all a little daunting!

I am trying to get hold of a good quality bass, mainly for pizz / jazz. I am planning on buying a starter bass in the next few months and it looks like a choice between a few Shen basses that are available locally (SB80/SB100 - full laminate, and SB150 - carved top). I am finding it very difficult to find a typical price for these basses, is there a reliable source for retail prices for double basses in the UK? Also, is a carved top really necessary to a complete beginner like me?

Any thoughts on these basses are welcome, if you have any experience with them I'd love to hear from you!

Cheers

As a rough rule of thumb, take what you think would be reasonable for a bass guitar and multiply it by a factor of three.

Cheap and cheerful model - £400-£1000
Half decent - £1,000-3,000
Getting serious - £3,000-£8,000
Silly Money - £8,000+

Does that help you at all?

(Someone please suggest better price brackets for this if you disagree, I've only ever bought one bass)

Edited by ZMech

No problem, I find relating new things to old knowledge to always be useful. I bought a cheap second hand chinese job for £400 for my first bass (think equivalent to buying a basic squire) and it's dong ok.

My teacher was nice enough to come along to test the bass out and reassured me it needed a setup but was otherwise ok, so if you have a kind friend/teacher then I'd recommend doing the same.