Why become a member? ×

NDBD - Boosey & Hawkes Excelsior for a complete novice.

Bigjas

So here I am posting in the Double Bass section. I never thought this day would happen, but the lovely Mrs Bigjas has bought me a Double Bass for my birthday (yes, I know how lucky I am )

I have been wanting one for about a year now, was going to get an EUB but I am so pleased she got me this one. It is such fun playing it, and I love having it taking pride of place in the lounge.

Its a Boosey & Hawkes Excelsior 3/4, and its had a hard life by the look of it. It has had a repair done to the neck joint, but its not been done very well. Other than that it looks ok, a few marks and lumps out of it, but it seems to play ok, bearing in mind this is the first time for me on an Upright Bass.

Does anyone know much history of these Bases? are they any good? I have searched these forums and google with some info, but not much. Mine has 50/2 written in pencil on the sticker in the left hand F hole, does anyone know what this stands for? I might spend some time and cash on it if its worth doing.

I know this is probably a stupid question, but what strings would you recommend for a novice without much cash to spend on strings. I have been looking at strings and they range from these from Thomman for £23 [url="http://www.thomann.de/gb/harley_benton_kontrabasssaiten_34.htm"]http://www.thomann.d...sssaiten_34.htm[/url] to other strings up to £500+ for a set. Would the Thomman ones be ok or are they a waste of time? I don't mind spending whats needed if I will notice the difference.

Also, the bass comes with what I can only describe as a rubber type of damper that sits on the bridge. When I take it off it makes the bass more trebbley, is this something that is widley used? I have lots of questions, I am reading these forums to gather as much info as possible.

Some pics of my pride and joy. I am sure I will get GAS for pickups, a case and then another, better bass.........

Jas