Why become a member? ×

Decrepit Double Bass Player

kedo

My bass is a three-quarter Stentor Elysia, which was originally set up by Kenny McDonald of Edinburgh (now retired) and more recently, John Wilkinson, also of Edinburgh (excellent Luthier by the way) fitted a new fixed bridge. It is a great instrument, and when amplified with a shadow SH950 pickup, sounds fantastic. I have been playing for almost 50 years and this has taken toll of my back which has been a problem for some time, but has got worse recently. The problem is not in the playing of the bass (it's easier than standing with a heavy P bass slung round your shoulders) but purely in the transport. I am therefore reluctantly considering selling the Stentor, and buying something which would be easier to move around.

I'm not so keen on the 'stick' basses, as those I have tried sound like fretless bass guitars. I think I would prefer something with a cavity and sound post like an Allegro or Eminence, neither of which I have tried. I would expect them however, to sound a bit more like a traditional double bass. I saw Victor Krauss play something like this recently with Lyle Lovett and it sounder brilliant, but expect it cost megabucks!

I absolutely adore the sound I get from my existing equipment (Markbass CMD 121P combo with Fishman Platinum Pro) but feel I will have to compromise or retire. Needs must!.

I don't want to get into the realms of silly money and would have to fund it mostly from the sale of the Stentor, and I don't know how easy it would be to sell that. I have absolutely no experience or knowledge of the 'electric' bass market. Incidentally, I mostly play Jazz.

I would appreciate any advice?