Why become a member? ×

THE ULTIMATE BASS ??

Reversebird

Been thinking for a few years now about my ultimate bass. With sooo many artist basses around I wondered what I would build if Fender ever approached me to build a signature bass.

So I had a think and wrote to Fender with my ideas, the reply is at the bottom from those very nice people at Fender UK.

Dear Fender

Leo Fender was a great innovator of guitars, especially basses and over the 65 years of Precision bass there have been a few changes but everybody is still looking for the holy grail of basses. A bass that does everything and is the bass for every man (women). I also love Jim Burns innovations, a man I really admire for his thinking outside the box in the early years of the guitar and bass. I would like to see if it was possible to build a bass that uses Leo's great bodies and Jim's electrical genius.

I have been playing bass for around 25 years now and I have tried every bass going from big makers to small, expensive basses to some modern cheap basses. My problem is I haven't found a bass that well "covers all the bases" excuse the pun.
I think these following basses are the basis for all others body shape wise and pickup arrangement wise.
Fender Precision one split single coils middle passive
Fender Jazz two single coils bridge and middle passive
Musicman Stingray humbucker bridge active
Gibson SG two humbuckers neck and bridge passive
Gibson Thunderbird two humbuckers bridge and middle passive
Rickenbacker 4000 series two single coils neck and bridge passive
Burns Bison three single coils neck bridge middle
Hofner Violin bass two humbuckers bridge and neck passive
Ibanez/yamaha/warwick etc two soap bar humbuckers bridge and middle active

I want a bass that does all of the above, I play in covers bands so although I get