Why become a member? ×

Earning a living playing covers?

Grassie

So who here does? I would imagine that those of you that are professional musicians are earning by playing originals/sessions/both (if I'm not being too presumptious..) but does anyone make a living playing covers exclusively? Or is it just not possible? :)

If you include weddings then yes. the main guy in a band I dep with regularly does this as his only job and making a fortune from it as well.

in fact when I graduated from University I didn't work for three years as I was making so much from the wedding band I was in at the time. I only got a job after this time as I got bored

Edited by Delberthot

What's original though? Presumably something that you have made up and no one else has ever played before. How many session musicians do that? How many classical musicians do that? How many 'pit' musicians do that?

I'd guess it's easier to earn a living playing 'covers' than playing original music you've written yourself.

I tend not to descrimate between the two as I think there is a decent viable band or there isn't.
But..I know far more people making, or trying to make a living, playing covers, than the other way round.

They may well be in a function band and getting £1500-2000 for a wedding and if they do that pretty regularly, they are
possibly on course for £15-20k p.a... Throw is a weeks worth of pub type money, plus a few lessons at a school...so regular and salaried,
and they are looking to be getting there.
They don't live too well tho, as if you are down on your 30 plus weddings a year, you are really going to struggle and never make that money up in the year...

On the other hand, I know of an original solo act and he has bought and paid for his house in just over 2 years... no record company backing him..
Probably the hardest working muso, I know.