Why become a member? ×

Some Questions From A DB Newbie (strings & things)

BeckyBass

Hello, I've been playing bass guitar for 10 years (professionally for 2) and I thought I'd try branching out into playing double bass.

I've just bought a 3/4 size double bass which is currently strung leftie but nothing has been altered so it should be fine to just swap the strings around (I play right-handed). I've been told to only remove one string at a time which is reasonable, but if I'm swapping them from left to right I will need to remove two at a time. Is this ok for keeping the bridge and neck all happy or am I pushing my luck a bit? I intend to get new strings soon so I could just wait until that happens, but I sort of want to try to out the current strings first... and new strings are expensive and I spent a little more on this bass than I'd hoped! Need a bit of time to claw back funds!

Strings: I have been recommended these strings http://omegamusic.co.uk/buy/pirastro-obligato-double-bass-strings-set?EAN=5050127086901&gclid=CMv9p7XU2L4CFQbMtAodDhAAOg and some others - Thomastik Infeld superflexible steels.
I want to play rock n roll/rockabilly kinda stuff - are either of these strings popular with other Basschatters? I've been told that weedwackers are normal for the music I want to play, but they may also sound quite dull so if I can handle the blisters then maybe avoid them.

I am also looking for a few DB tutors for a infrequent lessons. I live in Bristol but will travel a bit if needed... I'm open to learning from a few people to try different styles. I can read music and I'll practice hard but I'd just like a few informal sessions to make sure my technique isn't rubbish and to inspire me to be awesome!

All general tips are welcome, cheers everyone!