Why become a member? ×

Advice from upright bass players please!

[color=#4b0082][font=comic sans ms,cursive]Hello I’m a newbie to forum posting and to double bass playing.[/font][/color]
[color=#4b0082][font=comic sans ms,cursive] I’ve recently started to play upright bass in a band that appears to be drowning me out. To compensate I’m using amplification I usually use for my Fender solid body. This was a compromise in terms of authentic sound. I’ve noticed I have lost some of the nuances of the double bass original sound. Feedback is the main enemy and I’m exploring the use of preamp EQ’s to combat this. I currently have a Boss GEB 7 I used to use with a five string solid body guitar but looking around I came across the Fishman pro-eq platinum. I haven’t tried it yet. Does anyone have an opinion on this? Any ideas on Preamp EQ’s? Or experience in the best way of fighting feedback when more volume is required?[/font][/color]
[color=#4b0082][font=comic sans ms,cursive] Yours thoughts are most welcome.[/font][/color]

Welcome to the dark side. Prepare to be troubled by this for the rest of your life ... so embrace it and enjoy!
You're covering the two essential problems of amplifying double bass here ... replicating natural acoustic sound, and getting feedback-free volume.

[b]Natural tone:[/b]
You can pretty much forget trying to recreate acoustic sound by any other way than sticking a microphone in front of your bass. The only flaw in this method is that you're still mighty prone to feedback, so only low volume works really well, and you need some separation from the bloody drummer. But it's the only way.