Why become a member? ×

Jazz-type basses - edumacate me!

timmyo

Hi there,

my early bass fumblings have led me to think I'd like a J-type - flexibility of sound and playability of the couple I've tried (a Classic Vibe Aquier in a shop, and my friend's Sandberg Electra TT - the latter being wonderfully light too)

Now I don't know what's what really - as i where the value lies. I'll fund it from selling-on the USA SUB Sterling I blind-bought as a first bass (I now also have a Classic Vibe Precision so it won't leave me bassless to do so) and may find some other funds to chip in too. And if this thread leads me to think there's a reason to do so I may save a bit more for something 'nicer' than ££ the SUB will fetch.

So my only thoughts thus far:[list]
[*]Aware the Squier CV Jazz seems to be good
[*]Aware the USA Fender Jazz is the 'real thing'
[*]The Sandberg Electra seemed good (although I'm no expert)
[/list]

What other mid-range things might I look out for?

thanks
Tim

Play as many as you can mate, we all have such wildly differing opinions on taste, expectations and choices, and these can sound quite foreign to others opinions. :)

Obviously the more you spend, the better the wood and components. Some people notice the difference, some don't. But the 'level' you need to reach for is down to you and your bass needs. Play a load and you'll see where you fit into the market.

Good luck finding that Jazz, they are sweet basses!

I'm a relatively recent Jazz convert after many years of staunch P-Bass playing... and I'd agree with the above - if you're not precious about having an F-Decal on your headstock then a CV Jazz sounds good, is very playable and will be as good as you are for a long time to come. But I also agree that you should play as many different J Basses as you can, and hope that when you find 'the one' it's not priced at £5000... ;)