Why become a member? ×

Jezzzus have you see this?

witterth

HA I see now.. :)
I by no means claim to be as accomplished as the fabulous Mr Pratt but I have a very similar right hand action....though my thumb moves up and down the strings more often when I play the higher strings......It was just the way that occurred naturally when I started playing.

[quote name='Raymondo' timestamp='1406627645' post='2513080']
HA I see now.. :)
I by no means claim to be as accomplished as the fabulous Mr Pratt but I have a very similar right hand action....though my thumb moves up and down the strings more often when I play the higher strings......It was just the way that occurred naturally when I started playing.
[/quote]

Me too, on both accounts! I've got a similar hand position with not much floating thumb going on apart from higher strings as well. To compensate for my lack of ability, I used to jump around like some kind of special case on stage so had to use my thumb to anchor my bass a bit. I could then at least carry on playing when I landed without completely messing up.

It's interesting how he slides his thumb down from the pickup towards the E string when he's playing on the D and G, initially at least, then later on he doesn't, remaining anchored above the pickup.

Am I right in seeing that he plays in that sort of classical guitar style where you pull through the string and come to rest on string below? I tend to pull through and then float/hover. I sometimes wonder if I should make the effort to learn how play in the more correct manner - I'm still at the stage where I could change the way I play easily enough.

Looks to me like he's not thinking too much about it.
I've tried to show some friends what I do (which is similar to that video in my own way) and I couldn't do it the same note for note slowly when I was thinking about it. It's always different I feel when you're into a piece and copping a feel for it.