Why become a member? ×

Thumb position on Double Bass - which part of thumb ?

Paul Galbraith

Hi Everyone - I've been a lurker on here for a while... but not very active as a poster :yarr:

I'm an accomplished bassist - studied jazz at degree level & very technique / posture conscious due to being a repetitive strain injury sufferer.

I've been self-teaching myself on double bass for past few years, using correct pizz. technique (side of fingers) & have predominantly used 1-2-4 / upright fingering. I can now control the instrument quite well & feel comfortable on it using 'double bass technique' - not 'electric bass technique'.

Recently I've been brave enough to start venturing into Thumb position - ouch it hurts !! :blink:

I'm experimenting with different parts of my Thumb & have studied lot's of video's / pictures, but not sure which it the 'correct' part to use as they don't go into enough detail... so I've attached 2x pictures where I've drawn the various positions on my thumb & am wanting feedback from the double bass players on this forum.

On the attached thread pictures (you can click them to enlarge) :
* I've numbered the different parts I've been experimenting with 1-4.
* The RED pen is the bone in my thumb (the bit you use for traditional slapping on electric bass where you 'bounce' your thumb). I'll call this the slap bone.
* Position No.3 is pushing the 'slap bone' into the string at the angle your hand naturally comes into contact with the string.
* Position No. 2 is just the side of the thumb, halfway between the slap bone & the bottom of your thumb nail.

QUERIES - Based on my photographs :
(1) Which is the correct part of the thumb to use according to classical bass technique ?
(2) Are there variations on the classical bass technique ? i.e. more than 1 method ?
(3) Which is your personal preferred method to us. Please mention if you guys use a combination i.e. it get's too painful with one position, so you change to another to provide relief.