Why become a member? ×

In-Person Lessons and Learning Online

Samfordia

I've been playing for a couple of months now and I enjoy it so very much that it actually makes me happy. All I can do at the moment is successfully read tabs for songs that I already know and have fun playing them. I learnt one blues scale that I found somewhere and from that I came up with quite a few of my own basslines, I tend to be content for most of the time with making my own stuff up.

I realise that I need to further my understanding of theory and how to go about reading music. One day I hope to play with others in a band setting but won't be able to do that until I properly get down to furthering myself and understanding what it is I am doing.

In a perfect world I would find a teacher somewhere and have a lesson a week at the least but realistically this would be way too expensive. I have a lot of spare time and would ideally like to be taught in person as this would probably keep me on track and give me confidence knowing that I was doing things right.

If any kind of tuition fee is out of my reach then what are the alternatives? Is there a site that can assist me or a place where I could learn all of these things? I am aware of Scott's Bass Lessons but for some reason I found him to be something of a turn off. I think it may have been his many over-familiar emails and overuse of smilies :$

I recently bought a book that seems to be pretty good. It starts of with reading music and technique but I haven't totally gotten into it yet as I've only had it for a short time.

I'm not entirely sure what I expect in reply. Perhaps just a point in the right direction. Perhaps advice on exactly what it is I should be starting with.

Have a look at http://how-to-play-bass.com and his youTube channel. It is mostly based around progressing through learning songs, so maybe not what you want if you just enjoy making up your own stuff.