Why become a member? ×

Difference between speaker sizes?

Painy

[quote name='Bill Fitzmaurice' timestamp='1408645760' post='2532223']...On this side of the pond I doubt that one in ten bass players is in the PA.[/quote]

:lol:[size=4] ... or less still..![/size]

[size=4]Nevertheless, even in pubs/clubs, I've used Fender Bassman 2 x 15 (vertical cones...), Ampeg 4 x 10 and HH 'Giggles' 2 x 15 (horizontal cones...) * and I'm pretty sure everyone at the gigs heard the bass well enough. In a lab, there's certainly truth there, but in 'real life', in a room full of people, it's not a factor I've ever noticed.[/size]
[size=4]Disclaimer... I'm a drummer with old cloth ears. This could explain a lot... :blush:[/size]

[size=4] [/size][size=4]* No, not all at once, you fool; on separate occasions..! :rolleyes:[/size]

Edited by Dad3353

[quote name='chrismuzz' timestamp='1408646062' post='2532224']
Really? We're very lucky over here! In my current band I've only ever done like three gigs where I wasn't through the PA.[/quote]In the US it's SOP that the band provides the PA. The worse the job pays the more likely that you have to provide the sound. Since most bands don't want to pay for or carry any more gear than they have to the average PA is a powered mixer and a couple of cheap boxes on sticks, hardly something you'd run your bass through. The same applies to sound engineers, if you want one you'd better bring one with you. Consequently most bands mix from the stage. Maybe one in ten venues has PA, and those are mainly larger clubs in major metropolitan areas. Outside of cities you'll be lucky to find one in a hundred clubs that has PA.

[quote name='chrismuzz' timestamp='1408626296' post='2531952']
This might be a ridiculous question, but if you filled a cab with like 32 tweeters would you get good low end response with better dispersion on the highs? :P
[/quote] and your name may be Phil Jones...

[quote name='KingBollock' timestamp='1408647172' post='2532241']