Why become a member? ×

Looking at getting a new (read cheap/used) bass - help

bassfunk

[quote name='stingrayPete1977' timestamp='1408970006' post='2535000']
I have been playing mine for over a year now but I still would not be able to tell if a bass was any good really, I know what you are saying but it only works if you can already play fairly well, most people in this situation as I was are beginners or maybe the next step up, taking a good player along might be better but not everyone has a local good player to hand with the time to go and look at basses often 100 miles away do they? If I was a pro that warranted a year long trial of a bass I doubt I would be looking at Gedo basses or G4M :D I can't imagine many sellers on gumtree or ebay agreeing to any trial other than a dabble in their front front never mind 2 weeks? So that puts us back to shops probably on a sale or return basis, anything even one step up from my Gedo in a shop is going to be £1800+ thats the shops that stock such things most items in that price range at a shop are bows! :lol:
[/quote]

When i bought my first proper bass after my laminate disaster which was probably roughly about the same price as your new gedo (mine had been through a couple of hands by then) i was given a two week trial so i could bring it to my teacher, to a rehearsal, see how i coped with the size (it was a full size and i was quite new) and just generally to see how i got on with it. I did the same when i sold that bass, gave a two week trial to two people who i didn't know. Double bass's in general are hard things to sell, you have to be a bit trusting.

Edited by fatgoogle

• 4 weeks later...

[quote name='malbass' timestamp='1408715758' post='2532893']