Why become a member? ×

NBD - my first ever proper Jazz Bass!

bassbiscuits

New bass...

I've been playing bass for 28 years (yikes...!) somehow, but I've always ended up with a P bass (or at least a P Bass-alike) mainly just down to what was available/affordable secondhand, rather than for any technical reason.

Though I love Ps, there's been a jazz bass shaped hole in my life - until now!

Here's the new arrival - a 1999 USA Jazz in natural ash with white scratch plate. Not sure if they were called American Series/American Standard/Standard at this time, but I haven't seen many like this outside of the more recent 1975 reissues. It came with a Badass II fitted, which is a shame as i love the thru body thing, but no big deal.

I love these late 1990s Fenders - despite the neck varnish cracking on all the ones I've played, I really like them - seems Fender did a really nice 'back to basics' job at the time, just doing a few models and doing them well. Sure, there's not a lightweight ergonomic machine head or Custom Shop pickup in sight, but they sound fat and full and thumping to me, as well as being nicely worn in 15 years later.

Our local luthier gave it a bit of a set up and a tweak and i got it back on the weekend - since when I've been surgically attached to it.

I plumped for the black p/guard in the end after a straw poll of friends reckoned: 'white looks more country, but black looks more rock.' Ha ha!

Should get a chance to gig it in a few weeks - through a Littlemark III and a Schroeder 1210 cab. There's every chance it will sound righteous....

Good old Fender :)

Cheers folks - yes it's a great looking bass, and a nice change from the usual sunbursts too.

Have spent the last week doing little set-up tweaks to the action here and there and getting used to it, and now it plays exactly as I want. Really pleased so far.