Why become a member? ×

Newbie with questions

Thanet Newbie

(Moderators - If I have posted into the wrong section of the forum, please point me to the correct part....)

I am principally a guitar player - fingerstyle folk mainly - but have also acquired a range of other stringed instruments, and can bash a few chords out of them.

My daughter has now gifted to me her bass guitar - a Crafter Cruizer 4 string with a small Peavey practice amp. I am gradually getting my head around a few scales, and would ultimately like to use the bass to accompany a few songs in the ukulele club that I belong to. Nothing fancy at all, just a steady beat or shuffle to give a bit of tonal variety to our performances.

Two questions, please:

1) In general terms, what are the advantages/disadvantages of light guage strings to heavy guage ones? As a total newbie, it seems to me that light guage strings would be easier to play, but will they spoil the sound? (I guess the strings on the guitar are old, and I have no idea what guage, so I have decided to change them, but just need to decide what might the most appropriate guage for a beginner who just wants to play undemanding lines).

2) The 1st string (G) is way louder through the amp than the other strings, and I can't seem to rein it in despite lots of tweaking of the amp controls and the pickup controls. Is this something I will just have to live with, or does it need proper intervention by a luthier or an electrician? In which case I will have to just live with it, cos I don't want to throw money at this project, other than some strings!

Thanks in anticipation of any input from the forum.

Paul

[quote name='Thanet Newbie' timestamp='1409153421' post='2536888']
(Moderators - If I have posted into the wrong section of the forum, please point me to the correct part....)

I am principally a guitar player - fingerstyle folk mainly - but have also acquired a range of other stringed instruments, and can bash a few chords out of them.