Why become a member? ×

Blues jam standards?

The Admiral

Evening all.

I'd welcome some thoughts around a list of 'standards' to work on for a blues jam band I've been asked to sit in with. I'm not a blues expert, but I've got a pretty varied collection of stuff - Chicago, Texas, Delta, Detroit and Country styles, and I'm sure there must be a list of 'bankers' which will start us off well, before we get to investigating some of the more obscure stuff through the old "do you know..........?" routine.

All input gratefully received.

A

It's a jam, jam it :)

In all honesty 99% of the stuff can be described in musical terms. Slow blues in C starting on the 5, A medium speed shuffle in A with stops etc.

At the jams I do (and work at) quite often someone will say a name of a song I've never heard before. I smile, nod and just get on with it. Much more fun than trying to play a faithful version of a record.

All I want to know is what the feel/groove is and the key.
If there are any unusual changes, then maybe let me know,
but blues on bass is just about holding it together while the gtr
goes missing on a solo.
One of the reasons why I don't like to play in bands without keys..
If the keys are pretty educated in their substitutions, then even better and it is all
on the shout. Might freak the gtr tho ...which is funny..!!

[quote name='The Admiral' timestamp='1409179859' post='2537304']
Evening all.

I'd welcome some thoughts around a list of 'standards' to work on for a blues jam band I've been asked to sit in with. I'm not a blues expert, but I've got a pretty varied collection of stuff - Chicago, Texas, Delta, Detroit and Country styles, and I'm sure there must be a list of 'bankers' which will start us off well, before we get to investigating some of the more obscure stuff through the old "do you know..........?" routine.

All input gratefully received.

A
[/quote]
[quote name='Bassman Steve' timestamp='1409210313' post='2537403']