Why become a member? ×

Musician wanted ads - the kiss of death!

JapanAxe

As a born-again freelancer, I am always scanning the online ads. There are certain things that immediately put me off, e.g.:
- 'I am 15...'
- 'Stoner sludge doom death metalcore' (in any combination)
- Any female singer who refers to Alanis Morrissette.

What about you?

A real advert from The Gumtree.

Drummer available

I`m at Glasgow uni and thought it would be cool to have a hard rock cover band to have some fun. I do not have my own drum kit.

A drummer with no kit? I think I see a small problem.... :unsure:

Edited by jezzaboy

[quote name='jezzaboy' timestamp='1409342348' post='2538926']
And what the heck is a "shoegaze band?"

And why do lots of people want to form one?
[/quote]
Yes I did think about including 'shoegaze' along with 'stoner...' etc, but I think I'd made my point by then!

In 2002 Mrs Axe and I went to see Suede (again). Second on the bill were Razorlight, in whom the star quality was clearly evident. Bottom of the bill were a band whose name I don't recall (surprise!) - they never engaged with the audience, and sank without trace. And that is the problem with shoegazing...

[quote name='JapanAxe' timestamp='1409342724' post='2538934']
Yes I did think about including 'shoegaze' along with 'stoner...' etc, but I think I'd made my point by then!

In 2002 Mrs Axe and I went to see Suede (again). Second on the bill were Razorlight, in whom the star quality was clearly evident. Bottom of the bill were a band whose name I don't recall (surprise!) - they never engaged with the audience, and sank without trace. And that is the problem with shoegazing...
[/quote]

Worst band I've seen in recent memory for lack of engagement live was Athlete. Coincidentally they were supporting Alanis Morissette.

[quote name='jezzaboy' timestamp='1409342348' post='2538926']
And what the heck is a "shoegaze band?"
[/quote]