Why become a member? ×

New guy is confused

Leslie77s

Hi all I'm a newbie and have basically joined here to seek your collective knowledge.
I've been playing for years and just do hobby stuff now weddings/pubs and home jamming. I've got 2 old Fender Jazz basses and a Jack Cassidy Epiphone(which has been surprisingly good)
Anyway, I have an Ashdown ABM 500 410 Combo, two old 60's/70's Fender Bassman 135 heads, an Ampeg SVT Classic 15" cab and my original, ancient Fender Showman cabinet.
My problem is I'm sick of shifting the bulk and weight around and can't decide which modern small rig to buy? Been thinking of selling some of my gear and replacing with a Tecamp Puma Combo or Tonehammer with 1-2 Aguilar cabs but can't decide because I can't seem to try them out anywhere!
I'm based in the Glasgow area and prefer just a good old warm tone.
Any thoughts Bass Brothers?

At first I was gonna say, sell your amps and go for something like ; Mesa boogie walkabout scout/mark bass/phil jones combo /gallien Krueger etc.
All small , compact good reviews etc. However, when you mentioned the sound you are seeking, Aguilar do excellent heads and cabs.
Not too big either. Over to other bass chatters ..,

Aguilar is great gear for a warm tone but their cabs aren`t actually that light. Markbass is a clean but warm-in-the-mix sound and I`d happily recommend them based on my own use. The other option is get an amp head and cabs from a different make - such as Barefaced. Plenty light, good performance. An Aggie TH with a BF cab would be a nice sound I reckon.

Thanks for the thoughts guys, yeah the Fender heads and Showman look and sound great. Basically I need to get with the times and modernise a bit. Will definitely sell the Ashdown and one Bassman, possibly a Jazz and make up any difference for the new stuff. The problem in my area is that no retailers stock the equipment to try out!
Has anyone even heard a Tecamp Puma 212??