Why become a member? ×

Anyone up for a collaborative rap track taking the p*ss out of bass?

Annoying Twit

I've got a long history of not really getting very far with writing and recording music. But one thing I did way back when I was a foreign student was record a comedy rap album as a duo with a friend. Looking back, it's extremely unprofessional, but was a lot of fun. My friend is too busy being an airline pilot halfway around the world to do more recordings.

I'm thinking whether it would be possible to do a concept album in the style of the previous one, but with a different collaborator for each track. Each track taking the utter p*ss out of a different topic. Rules would be: no professional rappers - anyone prepared to speak vaguely in time with music would be fine. There must be a minimum percentage of absolutely corny rhymes in any lyrics. And that would be it. I'd want to program rhythms and synths, and play most of the bass, apart from solos. (Though, if there was a response to this - so far all my attempts have resulted in tumbleweeds) then a fun thing to do for a breakdown would be to have 20 people all slapping at once culminating in a screamed 'STOP IT!!!'. All I would need is for collaborators to write their own verse and send me a digital file of it. Plus anything extra (e.g. if it's possible to collect 20 different recordings of slapping - I'd need those).

The inspiration in the first place was the then recently released De La Soul album 'Three Feet High and Rising'. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRIqxSbh41I&list=PLSQUMAtzJMUNijKNBCzWX_dQgayfqJ576

While I hesitate to post this, being as it's ... what it is, here's an example of what we did way back when: https://soundcloud.com/annoyingtwit/bugbusters This is from a cassette copy I recently managed to find as I accidentally stood on the DAT original (yes, this &£$% was digitally recorded :D ) some years ago.

Anybody? Or is it tumbleweed city again?