Why become a member? ×

What does the Presence control actually do?

alhbass

As per the title. I'm wondering about the Sansamp BDDI in particular, as that's what I have - but throwing the question out there regarding Presence controls in general.

I mean, I can hear the difference right enough when I adjust it, but just wanted to know what parameter is actually being altered by it, and what specifically is it intended to acheive? It more or less just seems like an additional treble control to me...

Love to hear the BC wisdom, so please feel free to share your knowledge...

Cheers.

[quote name='flyfisher' timestamp='1413642368' post='2580468']
Wouldn't the upper harmonics be handled by the 'treble' control though?
[/quote]

To an extent, but my understanding of this, and I'm no expert, is that usually the Presence control won't be as interactive as a treble control is on the mids and lows.

[quote name='alhbass' timestamp='1413645141' post='2580499']
What is it meant to do?
[/quote]

Depends what you mean by 'meant to do'. Electronically, it will affect the boost and cut (making louder or quieter) of various frequencies, the exact ones will depend on the precise circuit design but they will tend to be the ones in the 'middle', which could be quite a wide range but is basically the ones higher than the bass and lower than the treble.

Audibly, it adds another control for the user to twiddle until they get the sound they like best, just like the bass and treble controls, which are not 'meant' to be adjusted to any particular settings as such, they are just a way of giving the user control over the sound according to their preferences.