Why become a member? ×

Japanese bass 1960's?

AntFoster

Hi,
I'm new to basschat. My 12 year old son plays bass and recently bought a beat up bass off ebay as a project. It's made in Japan and looking at similar basses on google images I think it might be 1960's. There's a faded shape where the maker's badge was (see photo). There's two main things that need fixing. Firstly it has no bridge! Can't figure out what it would have looked like to see if we could adapt a different bridge or otherwise I have a friend who works in metal and could praps make a bridge. I've tried to show in the photo's how high the strings will be when they hit the bridge which seems very high to me. The other thing is the wiring. I've got a diagram of a two pickup set up for a Jazz bass, but the pickups on my son's bass have different amounts of wires coming from them! Does anyone know what's going on? There's an inner wire and an outer wire sheath coming from one pickup and two inner wires plus an outer wire sheath coming from the other. I don't know much about pickups but is this normal?!

Any help/ideas much appreciated,
Anthony

Edited by AntFoster

I think you've got yourself quite a challenge there!

Because the pickups are mounted on the surface of the top, rather than the now almost universal approach of sinking into routed chambers in the top, the bridge is going to be much higher than most commercially available ones. The simplest way would be to mount a standard modern bridge on a block of wood. Not elegant but, if you can still use the existing string retainers, you wouldn't at this stage even have to bolt it down. Also have a look at the bridge that hofner use on their violin basses. They are also high and free floating. When I have a moment I'll send you a link.

But before you spend a lot of time and effort, find someone who can confirm the pickups are still working...