Why become a member? ×

Serious Question To Those Who Use A Full Stack

MindGoneBlank

Hi Guys,

I've got a dilemma and I need your help. Ever since I started playing bass, I've always wanted a full stack for no reason other than they're cool! But there's a massive difference between childhood dreams and adult reality!

I run a single 4x10 and almost always go through the PA rendering the cabinet no more than an on-stage monitor. And, most of the time, the soundman is telling me to turn down so as not to interfere with the front-of-house sound. Frankly, I could play most of our gigs with a 1x10 of even no amp at all!

On the rare occasions when I play without going through the PA, the single 4x10 is more than enough to keep up with the drummer and guitarist. My guitarist runs a 1x12" 50W (valve) combo so my rig already dwarfs his.

Here's the thing....I've been offered a silly, silly deal on a matching 4x10 so I could finally realise my childhood dreams! BUT, when would I ever use it?!! Having to take two cabs to a gig sounds like hard work. If I have PA support, the soundman will have a heart attack when he sees me pitch up with a full stack. Most pub landlords would also have a heart attack. And so would my bandmates!

So, other than simply using the full stack at home as my practice amp (!!!) can anyone help me justify this purchase? To those who use a full stack (2 x 410's, 1 x 410 with 1 x 115, 2 x 212's, 1 x 810 etc), when do you use it and how loud do you go?!!

Cheers!

:-)

Guest monsterthompson