Why become a member? ×

Active electronics: how much hiss is normal, and how do I get rid of it?

strtdv

I'm new to bass, after playing electric guitar for 13 years.
I'm pretty familiar with noise/hum on passive pickups and ground loop issues with pedals etc, but I've never had an instrument with active electronics.

I bought a used 2004 Warwick Thumb bolt on 5 string, which I believe has gold label MEC pickups and stock active treble/bass controls.
There's a distinct high frequency hiss, it's unchanged by touching the strings, it's louder when I boost the treble, quieter when I cut the treble, and quieter when I roll off the volume (particularly rolling it down from full volume to around 7-8 makes the biggest reduction in noise).
It's quite pronounced, you probably wouldn't hear it in a band setting but at home it's definitely quite intrusive.

The electronics all seem to be working as they ought, there are no crackles etc from the pots, and I've a brand new battery in the bass.

Is hiss like this normal?
What can I do to get rid of it?

Probably normal. At home practice levels I can hear the hiss from the Glockenklang pre in my Sandberg, even though I generally have the treble control backed off a bit. Mind you that's only when I stop playing and actively listen out for it. No tweeter in my cab btw.

The hiss is still there when I bypass the EQ, must just be a consequence of having active single coil pickups then.

Don't know about cheap electronics, I would expect them to be pretty good on a bass that cost £2k new.

My best bet is probably a noise gate then I suppose.

I'm just playing about with my Warwick Corvette (2004). I have the same "problem" on active when I boost the treble. I too have been trying to prod around with an earth-wire connection and nothing I touch with the earth makes any difference.