Why become a member? ×

Harley Benton bass owners - honest opinions?

Painy

Hi all.
I've started a couple of threads on here recently about my newly acquired gas for a P bass but on a tight budget. I've also mentioned that I feel lost on a 4 string these days having played 5s/6s for the last seventeen years so I'm now looking at 5 string P bases.
I've come across the Harley Benton PJ-5 HTR Deluxe on Thomann and aside from the minging scratchplate it looks pretty good. Sounds really nice and growly in the sound clips on their site and on clips on YouTube but we all know that's not always the most reliable way to judge the sound of a bass.

Harley Benton PJ Precision Deluxe 5 strings Sound…: http://youtu.be/u07Xf-kVjzk

Not me playing by the way, I haven't bought one yet!

Now I'm not a beginner by any means having played well over 1000 gigs over the last 19 years and until recently played German built Warwicks exclusively and (until finances forced me to swap my SS1 for my current Cort A6) I've always been a bit of a gear snob if I'm completely honest.
So my question to those of you out there who own these basses is: Can they genuinely cut the mustard - not just as in great for beginners, but for serious gigging musicians too (albeit pub rock covers)?
Any opinions greatfully received!

Edited by Painy

Depends what you mean by passing the mustard; the average drunk punter at a pub gig won't be able to tell the difference so the answer is probably yes.

But you will be able to notice the difference; the tone won't quite be where you want it, the frets will be sharp, the tuners & BBOT bridge will have clear press marks around the edges, depending on the finish you go for you'll know the the body is made up of random chunks of wood that have been glued together & cut into a bass shape and lots of after market upgrades that you'll inevitably want to buy won't fit because the dimensions are out by a couple of mm in every direction.