Why become a member? ×

Sound Engineer / Recording Courses, I'm after recommendations

The Badderer

Hi BC people.

I thought i would turn to you guys for recommendations based on my situation. I have a 10 year old degree in music and I understand the music tech world has moved on about 50,000 parsecs since then. I have been moving back into the world of making my own music for about 6 months and have reached a point where i want to make a bit more time for it in my life and could probably make 1 day a week spare to study. I am currently using Ableton + MainStage 3 but would also be happy working with Logic or if needs be Pro Tools.

At the same time as doing my own stuff at home, I also help with a church youth project / band helping them to make music and have taught a couple of people bass. This is reaching the point where it needs to advance in terms of music kit and my skill to use it. We need to start putting the drums in a drum cage with mics and running in ear monitors with a midi controlled click to allow us to use ableton tracks live / push midi controller / MainStage 3.

It would also be good for me to develop general sound engineer stuff so i can consider different options for working in the industry in the future.

I thought it was good to give you guys a general run down of where i'm at and what i'm wanting to do as that will rule out certain courses and directions.

I'm looking at doing anything from 1-5 day mega crash courses to 6 month - 1 year part time courses with evening study as an option.

Any recommendations and advice for what to steer clear from would be appreciated as I have seen some really great options and some that look like a company just in it to put you through a slap dash course and take your money and you come out the other side none the wiser.

Thanking the BC community in advance :)

• 2 weeks later...