Why become a member? ×

User experiences re Trace Elliot TwinValve vs HexaValve heads

KF2B

Greetings,

First post... I´m a novice player, age 43. Thought I was a drummer but... :yarr:

Yeah... I´ve used the search... Extensively. As well as googled... Extensively.

I´ve read and researched, and now I´d like to know what you who have real life user experience with either or both heads think of them and their differences beyond the obvious facts.

I´m looking for a training amp to be honest so the twin amp would more than suffice what comes to power. That being said a bit of extra ooomphf! never hurts.. Or does it?

Thanks,

J

Edited by KF2B

You might have to wait a while before either come up for sale. I've been looking for a hexavalve for the last 7 years and haven't found one yet. Twins come up a little more frequently but maybe one every couple of years. I suppose the question in my mind is why you want one of these amps for practice when there are many others that would do the job as well...?

[quote name='Kiwi' timestamp='1416088513' post='2606851']I suppose the question in my mind is why you want one of these amps for practice when there are many others that would do the job as well...?
[/quote]

I guess the answer is why do we marry our wives instead of some other women as there are so many to choose from... ;)
I guess I could go on and on about this but the simple truth is I just want one - it is as simple as that. Practicing for me is where it is at - in my job I deal with people day in and day out and for me practising in the tranquility of my home is relaxation and charging of batteries. If I like to do this with gear I learnt to equate as "the coolest stuff out there" in my teens... Well, I guess nostagia is not that bad when it is recognized. In short: why? - Just because I like to - no reasoning herein.

I did have the Quatravalve and now have a Hexavalve (which TBH I never use anymore/enough).