Why become a member? ×

Neck help / advice needed

donslow

Hey all, long story short, I've been tinkering with bass playing for about 4 years now but starting to get serious with it now

Up until about 18 months ago I was an avid fan of ibanez sdgr basses, owned an sr800, sr300 and an sr500 mostly loving these basses because of the slim, thin, fast necks

18 months ago, I decided to sell them all and buy a precision, found a vintage modified precision with upgraded bridge, pickups, pots, wiring and machines for a reasonable price so coughed up, absolutely love the noise this thing makes but.........the neck, have been playing it 3 times a week for the last year, ish, I just can't get on with it, my playing really suffers and I really struggle with the thicker, chunkier neck, sooooooo........I'm going to upgrade the neck for something slimmer, thinner and faster but not sure what would be the best way to go, hence my asking you lovely people for advice

A lot of reading

I've not got a definitive answer for you, but just to let you know you're not alone, I've found similar problems with a Fender JB I sometimes use when my SR505 isn't deemed 'appropriate'.

My playing doesn't 'suffer' as such, but I do have to work a lot harder to do the same things.

Seems to be quite a common thing, I say my playing suffers but it's closer to yourself, it's a lot harder and I fumble around a lot more struggling with the neck, i find my hands and arms kill me after just a couple of hours whereas when I had the ibanezes, I could play all day without the slightest struggle

It's a bit of a cop out answer I know but I do have small hands and fingers which I guess is why my old basses were so much easier to play

As I say, jazz bass necks have been recommended, especially if on a tight budget the ones mentioned above, but I'm just wondering mostly if there is that much of a difference and if it would be worth the outlay