Why become a member? ×

Finger/wrist breaking/cramp during relentless bassline - Technique / Assistance anyone?

coffee_king

Currently learning the Britpop classic 'Hey Dude' by Kula Shaker and its a right bee-otch on the fingers and wrist during the intro/verse as there's a load of hammer-ons up at the 8/10th and its bloody relentless for the first 1m08secs until there is a slight pattern change. Its more about doing the same patterns for this very long time that gives me major hand cramp.

Ive been playing bass for 20 years so I feel a little daft asking this question but does anyone have any suggestions on technique / help to make this all a little easier? I'm a Precision man and it was obviously written and performed on a Jazz, so thats why its harder to play on a P-Bass, but I'm not about to buy a Jazz for one song. I play my bass not too high or too low, so I guess I could adjust the strap up a bit, but I really don't like having to slow down the tempo of the set by adjusting things inbetween songs.

Ive been outvoted at not playing the song, but have managed to convince everyone to slow it down by about 5% but the cramp is still excruciating.

I have struggled with issues like this throughout my time playing bass.

Last week at rehearsal my right arm ceased up and I could barely move my fingers, had to stop for a few minutes... I know it's poor technique and as Bilbo says above, I'm gripping the neck too tight and digging in too hard with my plucking hand, it's a difficult habit to break.

I find when I really concentrate on playing and fretting lightly I have no issues but as soon as I stop actively focusing on playing lightly I'm digging in like a neanderthal again...

I play Testify by SRV in a trio, and it usually gets counted in faster than the record. I try to think of something else when I'm playing it. If I focus on the 16 to the bar beat I always tighten up.

I try to relax, play with a light feel and breath.