Why become a member? ×

Bass strings - thinking of changing brand - suggestions please...

Greg.Bassman

Hey everybody, come to pick your brains one more time if I may...

I've been using Rotosound SM66 40-100 Swing Bass's for a couple of years now; I like the tone, however, they feel very coarse (even when broken in)- so I'm thinking of changing brands. Is there anything else out there that's alittle smoother under my fingers? (but with all the same tone obviously)

Preferably, I'd like to stick to the same criteria (stainless steels, 40.60.80.100). Hoped you could throw some suggestions my way, based on personal experiences. All feedback welcome, and greatly appreciated.

P.S- I don't mind spending the extra cash if it means genuine quality (smooth, tone, long lasting).

Much thanks,

Edited by Greg.Bassman

To the OP, do you want the same tone as the Rotos when they are brand new and still zingy, or as when they`ve got older? If the latter, may be worth trying some TI Flats - I`ve just made the same jump, used Roto Rounds for years, preferring them once they`ve been on for over 3 months, swapped to TIs and am very happy. Much easier under the fingers, and going by the reports will last years.

La Bella nickel rounds (called 'Slappers' apparently - I presume 'cos they're good for that style) have a lot of growl and are pretty zingy for nickels - I was gifted a set by a fellow BCer and love them (I got the SN45 set - 45, 65, 85, 105). They have a smooth feel (as do most nickels I believe) and could be just what you need.

[quote name='paul_5' timestamp='1417385162' post='2619933']
D'Addario, but I don't think they do .040" to .100".

Failing that, Elixirs are a nice, smooth string.
[/quote]

EPS 190 is the D'Addario Pro Steel 40-100 gauge.

40-100 is now the standard gauge on a lot of new basses and its become out best selling gauge and now outselling 45-105 on 4 string sets.