Why become a member? ×

4, 5, 6 strings...

thebassist

I've been playing electric bass for 17 years now and only just bought my first non-4 string (a 6er) this past Friday. I've played around with 5 and 6 string basses before but, until now, I've never felt happy/confident enough to actually buy one.

I must say I feel I've been a bit stupid and have been missing out massively! While I've been practising a fair bit over the last couple of days, the crossover hasn't been nearly as difficult to overcome as I feared!

For anybody who has or is experiencing the same kinds of doubts as I was having, I'd suggest just going for it! I wish I'd switched years ago! :)

I have played 5 and 4 string basses to and from for several years .Over the last year or two I have gravitated back to the 4 string.
I have eventually found that the 4 str, for me is much easier to handle. The slimmer neck and string muting are main issues but I have also
found that anything below E, or perhaps D, belongs to the "Special Effects" department and not all that useful for what I do. With a drop D tuner on a 4 str I do
not miss much in bottom end. Ironically, I have a wonderful 5-string bass gathering dust, by far the best bass I have ever laid my hands on.
I will nevertheless put it up for sale. Sigh...

Edited by J.Eriksen

To be honest I think I generally agree with you. Also I have found the high C to be more useful than the low B...

I guess I was just surprised at how straightforward it actually was switching from a 4 - I thought it'd take ages to get used to a non-4 and I let that put me off trying extended range basses in the past...

Edited by thebassist

I have played 4, 5 and 6 strings extensively over the years and agree with the OP that I never had much difficulty with any of the transitions.