Why become a member? ×

Mark bass CMD121p any good?

chrisanthony1211

I like mine a lot. It's better with the matching NY 1 x 12 extension cab for bigger gigs.

Some folk don't like the tweeter which is fixed on the combo but adjustable on the cab. There's a thread on here about it but it's never bothered me.

Don't be put off by the tweeter - if you don't like it it's easy to disconnect. I'm a complete novice when it comes to these things and was able to follow the instructions in the thread elsewhere. Simple to disconnect and simple to reconnect should you want to in future. That said it might not bother you. I can't comment on gigability as I haven't used mine in anger yet, but it sounded pretty sweet cranked in the shop.

[quote name='xgsjx' timestamp='1417544422' post='2621565']
Lozz gigs one in a 9 peice band & from previous posts has said he has no trouble with volume.
If you're not sure, guess what I have for sale.
[/quote]

Yep, admittedly that band had another bassist as well, so I wasn`t doing all the low end, but there was plenty enough volume available, the band was drums, 2 basses, 3 gtrs, & 2 vox. Never had any trouble being heard, and my bass had the job of locking in with the drums an providing a solid foundation for the rest to work on.

I have the 121P and use it on its own. I played it in Mr Wolf's in Bristol (if you know the venue, smallish it is) with a rock drummer and guitarist (Pinball from here) at decent, but not overly loud rock music volume and I had the input on 3/10 and the output on 3/10 and all you could hear on stage was the bass. It was plenty loud for me.

I think it's a great little combo but if you're up against loud drummers and guitarists you might struggle unless you're using the DI into the PA as well.

It's a while since I've tried one back to back with a 102P but I think the 102 would be louder.

Adding the NY121 makes a huge difference, one of my favourite small rigs.