Why become a member? ×

What was it like for you being a bass beginner?

Gomez68

My Dad had played bass and guitar when he was a kid in a band (in fact, I now have his very first amp - an all original 1963 Fenton Weill valve combo - all 6 watts of it).

My very early memories are of Me, my bro and my sis sat round with my Dad playing his acoustic guitar - we'd sing songs and make songs up about family members. We'd record these songs on my Dad's
very 70's Goodmans cassette player with plug in mic. He must still have them somewhere.
I grew up to the soundtrack of 'Deep Purple', 'Dire Straits' 'Manfred Mann's earth band' and my Mum's amazing Motown vinyl collection.

I got a cheap 3/4 classical guitar at 10 and commenced lessons in school on the yellow book - can't remember the name.
I quit after a couple of terms.
Fast forward to secondary school and I started playing tuba at 12, by the time I got to 14 and had my grade 5 under my belt, I'd decided I wanted to start a band and learn guitar. Got a Mexican strat and started lessons alongside my brass lessons (still as my primary instrument).
Got a band going with no bassist so I said I'd give it a go.
Got my grade 8 tuba at 16 and carried on with the bass guitar in bands.
That's it ever since, although my tuba has taken much of a back seat really as I'm so busy with the function band.

I do wish I spent more time learning the old 6 string as I would like to "really wail" now and again in a band, but I love playing the bass!!