Why become a member? ×

What was it like for you being a bass beginner?

Gomez68

Hi guys, ok this has probably been a thread on here and nothing new I guess. I was sat with my bass learning my material and the usual fumbling and uncoordinated and flying fingers etc were more noticeable tonight than any other. I know I'm a beginner and I appreciate its not an overnight thing to be able to just play at an exceptable level. My question is what was it like for you guys learning bass and all the thoughts and feelings that kinda crept in as you try to learn ? At the moment it's like il never get my fingers to do that and il never have the feel etc ! But then if music was easy we would all be musicians ! Anyway what's your story?

It was extra exciting. Starting out playing in the early 80s, The Sex Pistols were my fave band, and I was able to learn their songs quite quickly which made me even more enthusiastic about it. There are still many things I`m yet to learn and this too is exciting, though I have to admit I generally only learn something when I need it - aside from playing with fingers rather than a pick. This was always something I`d lagged on, so a couple of years ago I set myself the task of only using a pick when with my band, when at home messing around only play fingerstyle. I`m quite proficient now, wouldn`t play my current bands material like that but with most covers no problems.