Why become a member? ×

BTW...what is a Pro..??

JTUK

[quote name='JTUK' timestamp='1418758569' post='2633060']
Hear the line, 'pro player' used here by many and I wonder what most people think it means..?
To me, all it means is that someone earns most of their wage playing music..
It is not necessarily anything to do with the standard that they play at...
[/quote]

That would be my definition too.

Blue

[quote name='lojo' timestamp='1418759527' post='2633080']
I'm not a pro, don't know theory and have a limited skill set, but sometimes get paid quite well for playing covers whilst people dance and enjoy themselves , this seems to piss off some pros.
[/quote]

I am in this category if indeed a category exists for such a player.

[quote name='lojo' timestamp='1418759527' post='2633080']
I'm not a pro, don't know theory and have a limited skill set, but sometimes get paid quite well for playing covers whilst people dance and enjoy themselves , this seems to piss off some pros.
[/quote]
Unlike a plumber or a nurse etc a musician falls into the category of 'the arts' which has no legal requirement to be a grade 8 or anything, as long as your diary is full you are doing ok although the more strings to your bow the better obviously :)

Slightly more seriously, I think it should be a player who earns their living from playing music - I would personally exclude teaching from this, as to me that is a completely different skill set and many great teachers would not necessarily make it as pro players just as many pro players will be awful teachers. There are of course many notable exceptions.

[quote name='Mykesbass' timestamp='1418761272' post='2633126']
Slightly more seriously, I think it should be a player who earns their living from playing music - I would personally exclude teaching from this...
[/quote]