Why become a member? ×

New Beginner Member :)

odyseus

Hi Chaps,
I'm 50 and decided to learn bass guitar, something I always wanted to do but never seemed to get around to it. The spur for me was watching a school friend play his 50th birthday pub gig (the first time he had played for over 21 years) and speaking to few retiree's who had just started to learn an instrument (the sort of thing you do, with plenty of time on your hands)

Anyway so far I have bought some gear - Amp, leads, VOX headphone amp, tuner and most importantly a bass guitar - [url="http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00667EV42?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00"]Lindo J-BASS Electric Bass Guitar[/url].

Now, I have a bought a few books and got a couple of DVD's ie
(1) Absolute beginners Bass Guitar (BOOK)
(2) Lick Library: Bass Guitar From Scratch (DVD).
(3) Play Bass Guitar In One Day - Featuring Dave Dixon (DVD).
(4) Jason Shepherd Learn Bass Guitar In 8 Weeks (DVD).

I started watching the MusicCollegeTV video's [url="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7m9QGj9GjIY"]https://www.youtube....h?v=7m9QGj9GjIY[/url] - which seem OK??

I have bought RockSmith - but this doesn't really have decent tutorials. In any case I have plenty of time to learn bass lines later when I have learnt the basics & good technique

Anyway, so far I'm just trying to play notes up and and down the strings with one finger per fret as per the DVD's & Youtube videos as a start.

I'm trying to get clean notes (without fret buzz), although I can't spread my fingers on the top of the neck, so I have to slide my hand along a bit to get the right finger to line up with the fret. I accept this is not ideal and of course I am trying to alternate my right hand I & M fingers.

Is the use of a Plectrum recommended?? - It just seems a bit easier