Why become a member? ×

One finger per fret

Aguycalledphil

Hi,

I'm a beginner bass player and I'm not able to stretch out my left hand to one finger per fret

I see you can use a 1 - 2 - 4 method across 3 frets
I'm not sure of the best way to practice this, could anyone provide a you tube link or practice book to buy on amazon or simple written advice of their experience

Is it vital to be able to master one finger per fret? Are there any famous bass players that are unable to do one finger per fret?

Would appreciate your help..Thanks

[quote name='Aguycalledphil' timestamp='1422227118' post='2670196']

Is it vital to be able to master one finger per fret?

[/quote]

In a word, no!

Depends where you are playing on the neck. If you are playing further up towards the body end then it will be easier to play one finger one fret. Playing nearer the nut it will be more difficult, so use the 1,2,4 fingering over three frets. Dave Marks has something to say about it in the clip below.

http://youtu.be/eXkxu_7Tn48

Try further up the neck, where the frets are closer together. Put your index finger on 7th fret of the E (thickest) string, and it will sound B, the 8th fret gives C. Now using the A (second thickest) string, 7th fret is E, 8th fret is F. Add in the open A to start, and the open D (second thinnest) in between, hey presto! A, B, C, D, E, F, and we haven't stretched at all. Working out the rest of the walk up through G, A, B, C, D, E, and F, is left as an exercise to the reader. ;)

Your hand stretch will almost certainly improve with time and practice, there's no need to force it and there is usually more than one way to skin the cat. There are those who say there ain't no money above the fifth fret, however there are only four notes below it that can't also be played somewhere else.