Why become a member? ×

Danny Thompson growls!

Bob G

I'm new to this double bass playing, about a month in, although I've played bass guitar for over 40 years. What I would like to know is how Danny Thompson gets that growl in his sound, does he have a particularly low action, or heavy right hand action, or is a particular string make more likely to produce this sound? Whatever, I like it a lot, even though I'm not likely to try and emulate it (at least not yet!)

I believe that for most of his recordings Danny played Thomastik Spirocore Stark strings. In his DVD he mentions higher action at the nut and hand strength built by many hours of rehearsal. Danny now has his own signature strings you can get via the Bass Centre, reasonably priced quality steel strings, I have used them in the past and liked them. Other than that, a fine old carved bass like his and his unbelievable talent are sure to be contributing factors to his sound. Hope this helps.

Spirocores would be a good start, but I'd agree that technique is a big part too. Setup also helps with getting that growl, (fingerboard dressing in particular) as I found I could get much closer to that sound on a bass which had been set up by a luthier who played jazz bass rather than a strictly classical-strings luthier.
There's a bit of a balance to be found though, as Thompson's sound has a solid and woody attack as well as the growl, and it's easy to focus on the growl and miss the attack...

• Like 1

Yes to all the above - practice, practice, practice....
Not tried the Danny signature strings
But I have tried several types,
and I'm amazed at just how different each type is, and what a huge difference in sound they can make

I'd say the same for bass guitar too, but it's an even bigger difference to DB in my opinion....

Interestingly, I saw Danny play a few years back, at Cambridge Folk Fest, in the original lineup of Pentangle
(RIP Mr Jansch) The sound engineers had quite some problem with Danny's sound