Why become a member? ×

DIY Valve Amp Kits

Bottle

Hi guys

I'm thinking about a couple of DIY projects and came across this [url="http://www.ampmaker.com/store/home.php"]site[/url] whilst Googling - they're based in a vilage just a stones' throw from me. It doesn't look like they sell bass amps but I'm tempted by one of the simpler (and smaller) guitar builds, maybe the WF5S 4W kit or the N5X 5W one.

Anyone had any experience of the maker? Or DIY kits in general?

Cheers,

Ian

[quote name='JapanAxe' timestamp='1425673990' post='2709711']
Very tempting. The sticking point with me is the lack of woodwork skills to build the cab!
[/quote]
Well, my Dad is quite handy with a woodsaw and router, so I think there's a fair division of labour to be had. Plus he's looking for projects to occupy himself with after his retirement :) spending the kids' inheritance and all that ;)

I built their PP18 kit last year. I was a first time builder and found it all very easy, and the amp is fantastic. Thoroughly recommended. It's a shame they don't do a bass amp. I'm thinking of doing another, probably the little 5 watt one.

I think Barry's amp kits are an excellent way to get into valve amp building!

The first amp I built was the SE-5a kit which was the forerunner to the N5X 5W and is a cracking little amp B)

The instructions are very clear with good photo's and if you follow them to the letter you should be fine. If you should run into any problems you can always contact Barry himself for advice.

What I would say is, if you haven't already got one, lay your hands on a good multimeter and wherever possible check EVERY component before assembling to ensure you have the right part in the right place.

Making a headbox isn't too tricky and doesn't need to complex at all :)

[b][u]Oh, and read the safety blurb and then read it again, big voltages floating around in these things - even the small ones![/u][/b]

Edited by Pentode