Why become a member? ×

What's the general standard of player who reads Basschat?

lou24d53

I often read threads on here and wonder to myself just what the standard / level of the player behind these comments are, as quite often I find them extremely difficult to relate to. So I thought I'd ask for myself just to enquire what is the general standard of the Basschat fraternity and to ask if you are happy - or at least, content - with your current playing ability.

I myself have been playing off and on since I started as a music module in 5th year of high school back in 1988 - basically I needed some subjects to fill up the timetable! - so that works out at approximately 26 years since I started playing bass, although there was a 5 or 6 year hiatus in there however, probably between 2001 to 2007ish. I am however happy to admit that I am NOWHERE near the standard of player I could have, or should have, been after playing for that length of time.

When I started, I never for a moment thought I would still be playing now that I am in my 40's. Basically, I never actually bothered to LEARN the bass. I picked up and tinkered to the extent that I taught myself shapes and patterns. I taught myself to play via muscle memory, which is exactly the same method I use today. I probably should feel an element of shame in that comment, but I can assure you I certainly do not lose sleep over it. Early on, I taught myself to play to Metallica and Guns N' Roses CD's before later moving on to the early Jamiroquai and early Brand New Heavies albums. I still have a pretty varied taste in music!