Why become a member? ×

What's the general standard of player who reads Basschat?

lou24d53

[quote name='cameltoe' timestamp='1426697716' post='2720972']
The problem I have, if it is a problem at all, is I have a good ear. Although this is great for beginning to learn and when I was a nipper, and means I can get a tune out of almost anything, it also means I've never really bothered to learn any theory- so, if I do decide to 'go for a wander' in a song, I don't have the knowledge to get back where I was!
[/quote]

Cameltoe has summed it up better than I. This has been me pretty much since I started playing!

The player I could've been , and the player I am . Good topic by Lou . I learned mainly unorthodox methods. I couldn't find a bass teacher initially. I phoned up a person advertising something in sounds magazine ' you don't need lessons for bass!' Yep I was told that, in the age of telephone calls.
I learned a few bits by a scale book, A few bits from American gutar books, Hot licks video eventually a proper tutor who got me unstuck from my plateau.

The main person who helped me was( and still is) ,a sh@t hot guitarist who I used to work with. Not in the same job, but in the same building.
One of my best friends. He used to either visit me once a week after work, show me some cool metal stuff to learn( plus some theory), I'd give him a 5'er and after I cooked him grub, we 'd be playing for hours. Sometimes it was in his house. Some people say you shouldn't take bass lessons from a guitarist.
He got me playing my first birthday gig at 30 in front of200 people, I did quite a few of those. Living in a big house with a big family meant that , I just learned root notes to begin with, and always had my stereo turned up high so I could hear the song I'm playing. Now of course, I turn down & listen for fills etc.