Why become a member? ×

Do you/your band rehearse with full gigging set-up?

Lozz196

[quote name='BigRedX' timestamp='1427123144' post='2726019']
On the other hand I'm not entirely convinced by the value to practicing in a room with a mirror wall. While it's fine for working out if your stage moves really are as cool as you thought, I've found that being able to see your hands in the mirror gives you a false sense of confidence when it comes to being able to play while looking at the audience.
[/quote]

So how do you practice that 'spinning the bass round your neck' thing then? :D

[quote name='BigRedX' timestamp='1427206409' post='2727130']
TBH I don't remember the room I used with the mirror wall sounding much different to any other reasonable practice room.
[/quote]

I've no actual experience of one- I just assumed that a glass wall would reflect the sound very effectively and make for a harsh sound. Perhaps it doesn't matter if the rest of the room has plenty of absorbent stuff.

[quote name='Count Bassy' timestamp='1427287658' post='2728266']
I've no actual experience of one- I just assumed that a glass wall would reflect the sound very effectively and make for a harsh sound. Perhaps it doesn't matter if the rest of the room has plenty of absorbent stuff.
[/quote]

Remember that one of the most critical listening environments is the recording studio control room which is frequently dominated by a huge window looking out onto the live room.

[quote name='ratman' timestamp='1427292390' post='2728382']
You're kidding, right??
[/quote]

No I'm not actually. Admittedly 90% was a figure I pulled out of the air, but I'd maintain that the differences we get fussy about are pretty minor compared to the basic fact that it's a bass amp.