Why become a member? ×

How many basses do I *need*?

ras52

I used to think the answer was [b]three[/b]:

- fretted with flats
- fretted with rounds
- fretless with flats

but I'm just getting into fivers, so I need all of the above in both four- and five-string versions, which makes [b]six[/b].

Now I'm on the brink of joining a band which tunes down a semitone, so I need all of the above in band-ready tuning as well as in standard tuning for other use, which makes [b]twelve[/b].

But whenever I pick up a bass with rounds on, I start wondering whether to try ground-wounds... so for that I'd need fours and fives in standard and band tuning, bringing the total to [b]sixteen[/b].

And I haven't considered putting anything other than flats on a fretless.

Edited by ras52

[quote name='discreet' timestamp='1427191641' post='2726847']
As far as *need* goes, the answer is zero. And you've fretted with flats twice, any particular reason? :)
[/quote]

I don't know what you're talking about, one of them says fretless, and it always did :-D

But now that you mention it, I'm sure there's a reason to have two (x N) of them... P and J, maybe.

[quote name='ras52' timestamp='1427191117' post='2726831']
...whenever I pick up a bass with rounds on, I start wondering whether to try ground-wounds... so for that I'd need fours and fives in standard and band tuning, bringing the total to [b]sixteen[/b].
[/quote]
[quote name='BigRedX' timestamp='1427194736' post='2726893']
What do you NEED? Whatever you use for your current musical project(s), and if that involves playing live an identical spare for each one.
[/quote]

So ras52 will in fact need [b]thirty-two[/b] basses. :)

[quote name='geoffbyrne' timestamp='1427195000' post='2726898']
You can do everything on a 5 that you can do on a 4, so you don't need the 4's.
[/quote]

If your 5s cover the same ground sonically then you don't need the 4 stringers unless the band(s) you are in specifically require them for the image.