Why become a member? ×

2 Years playing. Not sure how well im doing

Twincam

Its my anniversary give or take a few days of playing bass. And then a couple of months away from being a basschat member for 2 years.

I'm really not sure how well im doing or how to rate myself. It's just in the last few months that ive made good progress, im totally self taught and i think i wasted a fair bit of time doing the wrong things, however im pleased i learnt what works and what doesn't work so well myself.

I am still a little disappointed in my ability. Although several people (guitar players so not sure if there opinion is fully valid) say i play well and that they feel im about at the right level for my time playing.
I have a good basic grasp of playing. I can learn and play pretty much all beginner level stuff, a lot of beginner/intermediate things too, but after that i struggle.
I guess i feel like a relative novice still but in the next year im hoping to make good progress. I do have fairly simple tastes in bass, favoring tone, quality playing and timing, Over say flash, fast playing .

My technical knowledge of bass guitars and instruments in general is now very good. I can now set up a bass and many other stringed instruments, work on frets and do small repair work and modifications to a good standard. Im hoping to further this by doing some courses very soon. Im proud of this just wish my playing talent matched.

I've just got into trouble when I said that someone that who is quitting lessons after 3 weeks
as he doesn't feel he is progressing, was basically not going to be a guitar player if that is all
he could devote to it.
Some of us have been playing over 40 years, I'd imagine, and the trick is when you stop learning
and having that drive. Because as sure as anything, you never stop learning, you just lose the
vision or desire. The more you know, the more you know you don't know. IMO.