Why become a member? ×

Advice please! POG v's boss OC3

the hand of john curley

Advice needed please peeps! I'm after an octave pedal, but one that allows me to octave 'up' as well as just 'down'
So far I think I've narrowed it down to these two. Money is a factor and the boss is obviously cheaper than the pog. However, I don't know if it will allow me to do what I want.
Any advice or comments gratefully appreciated!
Thanks in advance
Matt

depends if you want clean octave up?

what are you going to use this for? pog is very digital and clean, you could try and look at an cog effects t-65 which has an effects loop to blend dirt pedals or other effects in with the octave, but the octave up is dirty and more to fill out the sound a bit more.

andy

I've been using either a micro pog or a OC3 on my board for a few years and I can't say I'm overly pleased with either but seeing as I only use octave on a couple of songs I have lived with them.

The micro pog tracks very well but sounds very digital. I don't like it when used along with a clean tone. The OC3 has a bit more depth but doesn't do octave up and doesn't track quite as well. It's not bad though.

Currently the Micro Pog is on my board but I like the look of the MXR bass octave deluxe and the COG T65 looks great especially as you can get custom options on COG pedals!

I'm eyeing up POGs because you can take two lines out of them, keeping one as your bass and boosting/dropping an octave on the other one. You can then have different subsequent effects on both, before going in to 2 amps or an ABY pedal (which I will do, as I can't afford 2 amps...). I want to act as dual rhythm guitarist + bassist in some of our bigger choruses/bridges, so this is valuable to me. Additionally, the Nano POG is supposed to be released soon, with (aside from a smaller footprint) 'improved circuitry', whatever that means... Perhaps it will make the digital sound of the Micro a bit more natural?