Why become a member? ×

Genz-Benz vs Aguilar vs TECAMP - Your help needed!

GeorgeL94

Currently looking at changing around some of my gear and think I need a helping hand with any tips!

My rig at the moment is a Glockenklang Blue Soul (Which i think will be on the market soon) going into a vanderkley 2x10 and 1x12 MNT.

Anyway, i dont feel like the Glockenklang sound suits my playing anymore and i want something smaller and a bit more lightweight. So i think i've narrowed it down to 3 options:

- The Genz-benz Shuttle 9.2

- Aguilar tonehammer 500

- TecAmp Puma 1000

As i've sent the Glockenklang off for a service, my friends lent me his GB shuttle 6.0 and i'm enjoying the sound. I havnt used a tube amp before so its sound is quite new to me. One thing i've noticed in particular is the tone seems really crisp and the high end stuff is great!

Anyway any tips/ advice would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers guys!

I've no experience with any TecAmp gear, so i can't comment on them.
I have used a GB Streamliner 6.0 and i did like it. I always had it as a backup, and it never let me down.
The tone was good. Very warm, and you could get it driven. Lightweight. Good class D amp.
The amp i use is the Aguilar TH500. Love it. Very easy to use. Can go from clean, to driven to outright fuzzy.
My favorite part is the Mids. Being able to select the frequency you want to boost/cut makes it very versatile.
I've not played it through Vanderkleys, so i don't know how it would work with these (some cabs are voiced different to others), but overall i absolutely love it.
I think the most common bit of advice you'll be given i to try and test these amps with your cab set-up.
Everyones opinions will be valid, but it's yours that matter!