Why become a member? ×

Advice on teaching your kids

Linus27

Hi,

I'm just after some advice and guidance on the best approach to help my daughter learn to play bass. She is only 6 but is starting to show interest and from time to time asks to play one of my basses. The first thing I will do is to get her a Kala bass so she has something that will suit her size. I also have a really nice EBS Classic combo which she can have as well.

My concern is the best approach for her to learn. I am self taught, started at 16 and just locked myself away in my bedroom for 2 years and then went out and joined a band. Not really ideal for my daughter. My son started drums at around 8 and did have lessons but to be fair, him and I clashed whenever I got involved, helping him practise and offering advice. As soon as I stepped away, he started to blossom and now at 12, has passed grade 2 drums and has now moved on to Violin and is working towards his grade 3, then 5 and then grade 8. His Violin teacher says he is amazing and he will eventually move to Viola. He also plays Piano and started composing.

So, I would like to distance myself from my daughters learning and just be there for any questions, technical problems and support. The last thing I want to do is to start teaching her and getting into arguments and eventually putting her off. Hopefully in time, she would feel confident to play and chat, be it in 2 years, 5 years or 20 years time. If she went for lessons, I would also ask my wife to take her. It was bad enough taking my son to drum lessons in terms of chatting music and understanding everything he was being taught so going to bass lessons would be a nightmare for her :)