Why become a member? ×

Key signature help required

CamdenRob

Morning all.

Looking for a bit of advice regarding key signatures.

I've been putting together some material for a new band and I've been using modes of the harmonic minor quite a bit. I am also writing everything down in proper notation as I've written stuff in the past only to forget it entirly a couple of weeks down the line and have to spend ages working it out again by ear from recordings...

So if I'm playing (for arguments sake) a riff in E Phrygian #3 as a mode of the harmonic minor, which key signature do I put that in? Do I put it in C (same as the regular E Phrygian) and every time I play the G# just note it as an accidental?

The answer may well be obvious but my theory is self taught so I have some gaps :blink:

Thanks folks.

Edited by CamdenRob

I don't 'know' the answer but I woudl approach it with the view that the purpose of the key signature is to reduce the need for cluttering up the stave with accidentals so, using the principle of enabling reading as opposed to being 'correct', if you are in Em as you say, then a key signature of C would mean the only accidentals would be the G#. I would therefore use C sa the key signature.

Jazz musicians often transcribe solos with a C signature because the nature of the lines means that every bar has as many accidentals as notes in the key signature so it becomes all but academic. It always surprises me how rarely I see a key signature on a chart.

[quote name='Bilbo' timestamp='1429862941' post='2755599']
I don't 'know' the answer but I woudl approach it with the view that the purpose of the key signature is to reduce the need for cluttering up the stave with accidentals so, using the principle of enabling reading as opposed to being 'correct', if you are in Em as you say, then a key signature of C would mean the only accidentals would be the G#. I would therefore use C sa the key signature.